Michigan Author at Pages: Dean Kuipers

We are excited to have Michigan author Dean Kuipers in our store for his latest book "The Deer Camp", a true story of a shattered family reunited by contact with a remote Michigan swamp.

This event is free and open to the public so we hope you will join us. Dean's book will be for sale before and after this event. 

About The Deer Camp: 

For readers of The Stranger in the Woods and H Is for Hawk, a beautifully written and emotionally rewarding memoir about a father, his three sons, and a scrappy 100-acre piece of land in rural Michigan.

Some families have to dig hard to find the love that holds them together. Some have to grow it out of the ground.

Bruce Kuipers was good at hunting, fishing, and working, but not at much else that makes a real father or husband. Conflicted, angry, and a serial cheater, he destroyed his relationship with his wife, Nancy, and alienated his three sons-journalist Dean, woodsman Brett, and troubled yet brilliant fisherman Joe. He distrusted people and clung to rural America as a place to hide.

So when Bruce purchased a 100-acre hunting property as a way to reconnect with his sons, they resisted. The land was the perfect bait, but none of them knew how to be together as a family. Conflicts arose over whether the land-an old farm that had been degraded and reduced to a few stands of pine and blowing sand-should be left alone or be actively restored. After a decade-long impasse, Bruce acquiesced, and his sons proceeded with their restoration plan. What happened next was a miracle of nature.

Dean Kuipers weaves a beautiful and surprising story about the restorative power of land and of his own family, which so desperately needed healing. Heartwarming and profound, The Deer Camp is the perfect story of fathers, sons, and the beauty and magic of the natural world.

DEAN KUIPER  has written about environmental politics, the human-nature relationship and the arts for three decades. A former editor at the Los Angeles Times, his work has appeared in Outside, Rolling Stone, Men's Journal, The Atlantic, Playboy and many other publications. He is the author of Burning Rainbow Farm, which was a 2007 Michigan Notable Book, Operation Bite BackI Am A Bullet (with fine artist Doug Aitken, and a new garden book with his wife, Lauri Kranz, A Garden Can Be Anywhere. A Michigan native, he lives in Los Angeles.

Event date: 
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 - 6:00pm to 7:30pm
Event address: 
19560 Grand River Ave.
Detroit, MI 48223
The Deer Camp: A Memoir of a Father, a Family, and the Land that Healed Them Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781635573480
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - May 14th, 2019