December GR Reads: Fire Keeper's Daughter

Join us in store to discuss "Fire Keeper's Daughter" by Michigan author, Angeline Boulley.

Whether you have just started the book or finished it months ago, all are welcome to come and join our book club we would love to have you!

The book club will meet this month in person at Pages ( 19560 Grand River). This book club is free and open to the public. It usually meets on the first Tuesday of every other month. Call the bookshop and ask one of our booksellers to learn more about it!

The novel will be available at Pages at 15% off. Purchase your copy of "Fire Keeper's Daughter" quick and easy here or copying this link into your browser: https://www.pagesbkshop.com/book/9781250766564

About Fire Keeper's Daughter 

With four starred reviews, Angeline Boulley's debut novel, Firekeeper's Daughter, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, perfect for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team.

Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims.

Now, as the deceptions—and deaths—keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

Event date: 
Tuesday, December 7, 2021 - 6:00pm to 7:30pm
Event address: 
19560 Grand River Ave.
Detroit, MI 48223
Firekeeper's Daughter Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250766564
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 16th, 2021