Searching for My Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking and totally unputdownable WW2 historical fiction (Paperback)

Searching for My Daughter: Absolutely heartbreaking and totally unputdownable WW2 historical fiction By Liz Trenow Cover Image
$13.19
We can order this book for you! This will delay shipping your book by 2 - 7 days.
(This book is non-returnable)

Description


The queue is long, but that barely matters. She is used to waiting. For the midnight knock at the door, for her number to be called, for the next meal of watery soup, the sound of a gunshot... Sustaining her through every moment of waiting, there has remained the tiniest flicker of hope: her daughter Rosa's face, eyes bright and expectant, arms outstretched.


Germany 1945: Miriam has travelled for over two weeks to reach safety. Exhausted and hungry, she knows she is still one of the fortunate ones. One of the few to survive the camps. Having lost her darling husband and son, the only thing that has kept her walking was the promise of finding her daughter, Rosa.


As she arrives at the checkpoint, she is told it is closed for the day. But in her mind Miriam can hear her daughter's voice: Be strong, stand up to them. Don't let anyone bully you, Mum. Standing tall, she comes face to face with the guard and refuses to leave until they help her.


When Miriam is introduced to an English officer named Jack, she describes how, fearing the Nazis, she and her husband sent Rosa to England to marry. It was not a marriage of love but of survival. Now, Miriam needs the officer's help: if she is to be reunited with her beloved daughter, he will need to help her travel to England.


But as Miriam begins to describe Rosa, there is a look of recognition in Jack's eyes. As he listens to her story, he is transported back to an unforgettable English summer, to secret picnics in the long grass, and to a love that shaped the man he became. Will Jack now risk everything help Miriam make the biggest journey of all, back to her daughter and her freedom?


An utterly gripping and emotional novel about bravery, enduring love and keeping hope alive in the darkest of times. Perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Beneath a Scarlet Sky and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.


Readers love Liz Trenow:


'Had me gripped from the first paragraph... A fabulous read.' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


'I wish I could give this a 10 star rating... An exceptional story... You have to read this book.' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


'I was totally hooked on this... I was touched by how honest and enlightening it was. An absolutely brilliant read.' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


'A book which takes me in, rips parts of my heart and soul and then keeps me hooked and has a hold on me forever.' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


'An incredibly touching story where hope was never lost. I was riveted... The conclusion brought tears of joy to me.' Robin Loves Reading ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


'Loved it ... This book is beautifully written, and the story is absolutely captivating. It makes you not want to put it down and stop reading, even long after the book is over.' Goodreads Reviewer


'Absolutely loved this book and couldn't put it down... Highly recommend this book.' Goodreads reviewer, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️



Product Details
ISBN: 9781803143637
ISBN-10: 1803143630
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: May 5th, 2022
Pages: 304
Language: English