To the Uttermost Ends of the Earth: The Epic Hunt for the South's Most Feared Ship--And the Greatest Sea Battle of the Civil War (Paperback)

To the Uttermost Ends of the Earth: The Epic Hunt for the South's Most Feared Ship--And the Greatest Sea Battle of the Civil War By Phil Keith, Tom Clavin Cover Image
$21.99
We can order this book for you! This will delay shipping your book by 2 - 7 days.

Description


"Entertaining from beginning to end... For fans of O'Brian and Forester, it is a welcome addition to the lore of navies whose sailors braved storms and shrapnel in a war for America's destiny." --Wall Street Journal

On June 19, 1864, just off the coast of France, one of the most dramatic naval battles in history took place. On a clear day with windswept skies, the dreaded Confederate raider Alabama faced the Union warship Kearsarge in an all-or-nothing fight to the finish, the outcome of which would effectively end the threat of the Confederacy on the high seas.

Award-winning and bestselling historians Phil Keith and Tom Clavin introduce some of the crucial but historically overlooked players in the deciding clash. Readers will sail aboard the Kearsarge as Winslow embarks for Europe with a set of simple orders from the secretary of the navy: "Travel to the uttermost ends of the earth, if necessary, to find and destroy the Alabama."

"An accomplished history of an iconic battle." --Kirkus Reviews

"Naval history buffs will be enthralled." --Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9781335449498
ISBN-10: 1335449493
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Publication Date: April 9th, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English