The Series: What I Remember, What It Felt Like, What It Feels Like Now (Hardcover)

The Series: What I Remember, What It Felt Like, What It Feels Like Now By Ken Dryden Cover Image



A new book by Hall of Fame goalie and bestselling author Ken Dryden celebrates the 50th anniversary of the 1972 Summit Series


 The best against the best for the first time. Canada, the country that had created the game; the Soviet Union, having taken it up only twenty-six years earlier. On the line: more than the players, more than the fans, more than Canadians and Russians knew.
    So began an entirely improbable, near-month-long series of games that became more and more riveting, until, for the eighth, and final, and deciding game—on a weekday, during work and school hours all across the country—the nation stopped. Of Canada’s 22 million people, 16 million watched. Three thousand more were there, in Moscow, behind the Iron Curtain, singing—Da da, Ka-na-da, nyet, nyet, So-vi-yet!
     It is a story long told, often told. But never like this.
    Ken Dryden, a goalie in the series, a lifetime observer, later a writer, tells the story in “you are there” style, as if he is living it for the first time. As if you, the reader, are too.
    The series, as it turned out, is the most important moment in hockey history, changing the game, on the ice and off, everywhere in the world. As it turned out, it is one of the most significant events in all of Canada’s history.
    Through Ken Dryden’s words, we understand why.

About the Author

KEN DRYDEN was a goalie for the Montreal Canadiens in the 1970s, during which time the team won six Stanley Cups, and he played for Team Canada in the 1972 Summit Series. He has been inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. He is a former federal member of parliament and cabinet minister, and is the author of eight books, including The Game, Home Game (with Roy MacGregor), Game Change, and Scotty. He and his wife, Lynda, live in Toronto and have two children and four grandchildren.

Praise For…

"[Ken Dryden is] [h]ockey's brainiest practitioner[...]The story has grace and pride in the telling, and soul as well."Canada's History

“Over 192 beautiful pages, the book combines one player's memories of the Summit Series with photos, letters and other mementoes to give the reader a deeply personal glimpse at eight games that united a nation.”—CBC

“Dryden’s erudite and heartfelt retelling of the events of that summer is a must-read for students of the game, and the beautifully packaged book with its myriad color photos is the perfect gift for hockey fans everywhere.”—The Hockey Writers

 “A marvelous tribute to one of the greatest sports events of the 20th century and – to many historians and fans alike [...] Like Dryden himself in that 6-5 Game Eight finale in Moscow, the book comes out a winner.”—International Ice Hockey Federation

“… an interesting one-sitting read with great photographs”The Peterborough Examiner

The Series is not so much a chronicle of the games as an assembly line of word pictures spilling from the memory of what it felt like to a thoughtful, observant, and articulate man who not only was there, but out there on the ice both in Canada and Moscow.”—Winnipeg Free Press

Product Details
ISBN: 9780771001130
ISBN-10: 0771001134
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Publication Date: August 23rd, 2022
Pages: 200
Language: English