Raaga's Song: A Diwali Story (Hardcover)

Raaga's Song: A Diwali Story By Navina Chhabria Cover Image
$17.99
We can order this book for you! This will delay shipping your book by 2 - 7 days.

Description


For fans of Sugar in Milk and Festival of Colors, this celebration of the Diwali holiday is interwoven with an empowering folktale that teaches the importance of being true to oneself.

Raaga has always dreamed of singing at the annual Diwali mela at the Royal Place. Ever since she was a little girl, her grandfather would tell her the story of how Lord Rama and his army slew the ten-headed demon Ravana (the story for which Diwali is celebrated today). While young Raaga has always suffered from stage fright, the more Raaga practices with her grandfather, the larger her audience grows, like her own little army.

When the day of the audition comes, Raaga takes to the stage in front of her family and friends. But the ten judges tower over her like Ravana and taunt her: "You are the color of a moonless night," one says. "Can you really sing?" It will take all of Raaga's courage and the support of her "army" to summon the strength of Lord Rama and prove them wrong.

About the Author


Navina Chhabria grew up in India. An experienced world traveler, she is particularly drawn to stories that showcase cultural diversity and shatter gender stereotypes.

Praise For…


“This gentle yet powerful picture book is suitable for early childhood listeners, but also for older elementary students… Recommended purchase for libraries with readers who want to learn more about the origins of Diwali and make a connection to modern-day issues.”—School Library Journal

"Laudably, Chhabria highlights a young girl’s insecurities in the face of colorism as well as the power of loved ones and one’s faith."—Kirkus Reviews

“In a modern folktale about courage, Chhabria leans into the Hindu mythology that underpins celebrations of Diwali across India. … Paired with a telling that explores prejudice and self-determination, colorblock art employs Indian iconography and folk art forms using a minimal, contrasting palette.”—Publishers Weekly

“A charmingly illustrated and informatively entertaining story…highly recommended for family, daycare center, preschool, elementary school, and community library picture book collections.”—Midwest Book Review


Product Details
ISBN: 9780762482245
ISBN-10: 0762482249
Publisher: Running Press Kids
Publication Date: September 26th, 2023
Pages: 32
Language: English